Research Projects

Sparkling Science has set itself the target of connecting high quality research directly with the promotion of junior researchers and to increase young people’s interest in research by supporting ambitious scientific cooperation projects between research institutions and schools.

The aim of the initiative is to create a double added value for research and education: On the part of research innovative scientific findings will be gained. On the part of education close contacts with the science system will be established and schoolchildren will get the opportunity to get in direct contact with state-of-the-art knowledge at school already. This is enabled by means of Citizen Science cooperations.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

Sparkling Science only supports projects

  • that take into account the state-of-the-art in science
  • in which schoolchildren work side by side with researchers and make contributions that are relevant for the achievement of the research goals
  • in which the contributions of the schoolchildren are embedded so neatly that the project results comply with the valid scientific quality standards.

Who can submit projects?

Research projects can be submitted by university and non-university research institutions, private universities, universities of applied sciences and university colleges of teacher education. The project leader will be the institution submitting the project.

Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Coypright Martin Posset

General conditions

Project proposals can be submitted in all fields of research.
The maximum duration of the project is two years. It, however, can be extended in well-justified cases. The maximum funding is 170,000 euros. In case of projects dealing with specific measures for the support of girls and women and/or projects that immerse themselves more deeply in gender-related aspects of the research issues examined these amounts can be exceeded by up to 10 %.

Support for girls

MINT projects in which special support measures for girls are implemented may exceed the maximum funding by up to 10%. The additional funds are earmarked for these measures.

Support of focus areas

Projects of universities or universities of applied sciences with special foci in the area of research and educational cooperations may exceed the maximum funding by up to 20%, if they implement specific measures to develop these focus areas further. The additional funds must be used for these measures.

Forschungsprojekte

Sparkling Science hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, hochwertige Forschung direkt mit Nachwuchsförderung zu verbinden und über Förderung von anspruchsvollen wissenschaftlichen Kooperationsprojekten zwischen Forschungseinrichtungen und Schulen das Interesse von Jugendlichen am Thema Forschung zu steigern.

Ziel der Initiative ist es, durch die Förderung einen doppelten Mehrwert für Forschung und Bildung zu erzeugen: auf Seiten der Forschung die Gewinnung besonders innovativer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse, auf Seiten der Bildung die Anknüpfung enger Kontakte zum Wissenschaftssystem und die Möglichkeit, bereits im Zuge des Schulunterrichts in direkte Berührung mit dem neuesten Stand des Wissens zu kommen.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

Sparkling Science fördert ausschließlich Projekte,

  • die den neuesten Stand der Wissenschaft berücksichtigen,
  • in denen Schülerinnen und Schüler Seite an Seite mit Wissenschafter/innen arbeiten und inhaltlich relevante Beiträge zur Erreichung der Forschungsziele einbringen
  • in denen die Beiträge der Schüler/innen so sauber eingearbeitet sind, dass die Projektergebnisse den gültigen wissenschaftlichen Qualitätsstandards entsprechen

Wer kann Projekte einreichen?

Forschungsprojekte können von universitären und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen, Privatuniversitäten, Fachhochschulen und Pädagogischen Hochschulen eingereicht werden. Die Projektleitung liegt bei der einreichenden Einrichtung.

Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Coypright Martin Posset

Rahmenbedingungen

Es können Projektvorschläge aus allen Forschungsfeldern eingereicht werden.
Die Projektlaufzeit beträgt maximal zwei Jahre, kann jedoch in begründeten Fällen verlängert werden. Die maximale Förderhöhe liegt bei 170.000 Euro.

Förderung von Mädchen

Projekte im MINT-Bereich, in welchen spezielle Maßnahmen zur Förderung von Mädchen umgesetzt werden, können den maximalen Förderbetrag um bis zu 10% überschreiten. Die zusätzlichen Fördermittel sind zweckgebunden für diese Maßnahmen.

Förderung von Profilschwerpunkten

Projekte von Universitäten oder Fachhochschulen mit profilgebenden Schwerpunkten im Bereich Forschungs-Bildungs-Kooperation können die maximalen Förderungsbeträge um bis zu 20% überschreiten, wenn sie spezielle Maßnahmen zum Ausbau dieser Profilschwerpunkte umsetzen Die zusätzlichen Fördermittel sind zweckgebunden für diese Maßnahmen einzusetzen.