The most important information

A programme from BMWFW to promote collaboration with schools

The BMWFW programme promotes projects in which schoolchildren are actively involved in the research process. In these projects schoolchildren support scientists in scientific work and in communicating the joint research results to the public. This collaboration can happen for example in the form of jointly conceived high school theses, A level projects and degree dissertations (at HBLFA – Higher Federal Research and Education Centres) or as part of cross-curricular school projects. In the first phase of the programme the focus was on promoting as wide a variety of innovative projects as possible to be able to test various cooperation models for impact and efficiency. In the further course of the programme the focus shifts towards implementation as the programme should generate more than just knowledge – it should stimulate systemic changes. After the programme has ended longer-term cooperation agreements should become a permanent part of the Austrian research and education system’s repertoire. Sparkling Science is set to run for ten years which enables a staged adoption of successful pilot projects and cooperation models into the standard system.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

The programme is embedded into an extensive initiative for the promotion of young scientists

The initiative’s vision is to break down structural barriers between the education and academic system in Austria. At the heart is the question of how the interface between school and university can be improved and which basic conditions need to be created so that success models of institutional collaboration can be adopted into the standard system of service agreements, research promotion, school profile development and teacher training. Cooperation between research and education (FBK) as a highly efficient teaching and learning setting should be structurally anchored in research promotion, school lessons and teacher training. By integrating cooperation between research and education institutions barriers between schools and universities are to be broken down, a better informed choice of course of study is to be facilitated and a quicker transfer of scientific knowledge is to be supported into the education system and to the general public.

Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Coypright Martin Posset

The special feature of Sparkling Science is the cooperation of schoolchildren in real research projects

In the last few years a variety of promotion programmes, PUS measures and school competitions have been started all over Europe as part of the dialogue between science and society and to improve maths and science lessons (student laboratories and school competitions.) Austria as well, not least as a result of comparative studies like TIMSS and PISA. Sparkling Science, however, goes a decisive step beyond these initiatives. It only supports projects in which youngsters are actively involved in authentic research projects in the framework of Citizen Science cooperations with schools and contribute in a substantial way to these research activities.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

New platform Young Science connects schools and science

Under the motto "research connects people" the service and information platform Young Science, which has been initiated and financed by the Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy (BMWFW), collects information and contacts regarding all programmes of pre-university junior researcher support of the BMWFW. The aim is to strongly intensify the cooperation between the secondary and tertiary education sector and to initiate and support direct contacts between people interested in studying, teachers and researchers. The central platform of the service centre, which is part of the OeAD, is the website www.youngscience.at.

Das Wichtigste auf einer Seite

Ein Förderprogramm des BMWFW für die Zusammenarbeit mit Schulen

Das BMWFW fördert in dem Programm Projekte, in welchen Schülerinnen und Schüler aktiv in den Forschungsprozess einbezogen werden. In diesen Projekten unterstützen Schüler/innen die Wissenschaftler/innen bei der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und bei der Vermittlung der gemeinsamen Forschungsergebnisse an die Öffentlichkeit. Diese Zusammenarbeit kann zum Beispiel in Form von gemeinsam konzipierten Fachbereichsarbeiten, Maturaprojekten und Diplomarbeiten (an HBLFAs) oder im Rahmen von fächerübergreifenden Schulprojekten geschehen. In der ersten Programmphase lag der Schwerpunkt des Programms auf der Förderung möglichst vielseitiger innovativer Projekte, um unterschiedlichste Kooperationsmodelle auf Impact und Effizienz testen zu können. Im weiteren Verlauf des Programms verschiebt sich der Förderschwerpunkt in Richtung Implementierung, denn das Programm soll mehr als Wissen generieren – es soll Systemveränderungen anregen. Nach Beendigung des Programms sollen längerfristige Kooperationsvereinbarungen zum festen Repertoire des österreichischen Forschungs- und Bildungssystems gehören. Sparkling Science ist auf zehn Jahre angelegt, was die schrittweise Übernahme erfolgreicher Pilotprojekte und Kooperationsmodelle in das Regelsystem ermöglicht.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

Das Programm ist eingebettet in eine umfassende Initiative zur Nachwuchsförderung

Die Vision der Initiative ist der Abbau struktureller Barrieren zwischen Bildungs- und Wissenschaftssystem in Österreich. Im Zentrum steht die Frage, wie die Schnittstelle zwischen Schule und Universität verbessert werden kann und welche Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen werden müssen, damit Erfolgsmodelle einer institutionellen Zusammenarbeit ins Regelsystem von Leistungsvereinbarungen, Forschungsförderung, Schulprofilentwicklung und Lehrer/innenbildung übernommen werden können. Kooperation von Forschung und Bildung (FBK) als hocheffizientes Lehr- und Lernsetting soll strukturell in Forschungsförderung, Schulunterricht und Lehrer/innenbildung verankert werden. Durch die Verankerung von Kooperationen zwischen Forschungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen sollen gezielt Barrieren zwischen Schule und Universität abgebaut, qualifiziertere Studienwahl ermöglicht und ein schnellerer Transfer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in das Bildungssystem und an die Öffentlichkeit unterstützt werden.

Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Coypright Martin Posset

Das Besondere des Programms Sparkling Science ist die Mitarbeit der Schüler und Schülerinnen in echten Forschungsprojekten

Europaweit wurden in den letzten Jahren eine Vielzahl an Förderprogrammen, PUS-Maßnahmen und Schulwettbewerben im Rahmen des Dialogs Wissenschaft-Gesellschaft und zur Verbesserung des mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Schulunterrichts (Schülerlabore und Schulwettbewerbe) gestartet. Auch in Österreich, nicht zuletzt nach den Ergebnissen von Vergleichsuntersuchungen wie TIMSS oder PISA. Sparkling Science geht jedoch einen entscheidenden Schritt über diese Initiativen hinaus. Es fördert ausschließlich Projekte, in denen Jugendliche im Rahmen von Citizen Science Kooperationen mit Schulen aktiv in authentische Forschungsvorhaben eingebunden werden und substanzielle Beiträge zu diesen Forschungsaktivitäten leisten.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

Neue Plattform Young Science vernetzt Schule und Wissenschaft

Unter dem Motto „Forschung verbindet“ bündelt die vom BMWFW initiierte und finanzierte Service- und Informationsplattform Young Science Informationen und Kontaktangebote zu sämtlichen Programmen der voruniversitären Nachwuchsförderung des BMWFW. Ziel ist es, die Kooperationen zwischen dem sekundären und tertiären Bildungsbereich deutlich zu intensivieren und direkte Kontakte zwischen Studieninteressierten, Lehrpersonen und Wissenschaftler/innen zu initiieren und zu fördern. Zentrale Drehscheibe der beim Österreichischen Austauschdienst angesiedelten Servicestelle ist die Homepage www.youngscience.at.