Facts & Figures

Facts & Figures: All Research and School Research Projects

How highly funded is the programme and how long will it run?

  • The programme’s strategic plan is set at ten years (2007 to 2017).
  • Sparkling Science is endowed with an annual budget of three million euros.

How many cooperations are in place already? *

From the preparatory phase of the programme and the first four calls for application in the years 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2012 a total of 209 projects (155 research projects and 54 school research projects) have resulted, 168 of which (115 research projects and 53 school research projects) have already been completed successfully.

The duration of the longest-running projects will be until September 2016.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

Can young people really collaborate on all research projects?

No. The precondition of productive collaboration and therefore the condition for the promotion of a project is that in all cases both sides must factually profit in terms of a win-win situation from the cooperation. The Sparkling Science programme only supports projects in which the participation of pupils creates a tangible gain of knowledge –e.g. in the form of special age-specific skills, advanced approaches to specific fields or additional time resources.

How comprehensive are the projects in the Sparkling Science programme?

The programme projects are of very different magnitudes depending on scientific complexity. The project scope ranges from large research projects with a volume up to 187,000 Euros to smaller and less complex school research projects, which were also promoted from 2007 until 2011. Large research projects are supported with up to 170.000,- euros which could be exceeded by 10 % by encouraging women/girls respectively by focusing on gender relevant aspects.

The best 30 of the school research projects were supported with research grants of up to 5,000 Euros. These school research projects, however, co-operated with “real” research projects, which were funded by other national and international research programmes outside the Sparkling Science programme.

Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Copyright Martin Posset

What could a future project concretely look like?

Migration researchers from the University of Vienna and the Academy of Sciences could for example develop a project on the theme of intercultural learning in school classes together with 23 schools from all the Vienna districts. Students of the schools involved would carry out and comparatively evaluate a variety of small social science case studies as part of project work and high school theses and under the guidance of scientists.

They could present the results of the evaluation to their own and to other schools; joint appearances at conferences and media work with the scientists would significantly support publicity of the research. The research results would be communicated via the teachers and parents of the young people involved to target groups who would be unreachable without cooperation with the schools. Experience has shown time and again: the media love to report on research activities in which young people are involved. In such projects science is presented as being comprehensible, clear and charming.

This is an example of a social science based cooperation project. However, projects are welcomed from all scientific fields – especially natural and technological sciences.

How can teachers be remunerated?

As part of the Sparkling Science projects teachers can be remunerated using a work contract in case of extra time (weekends, evenings, holidays etc.), i.e. time which falls outside usual lesson times.

Education belongs in the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture (BMBF) – why is the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy (BMWFW) getting involved?

The Sparkling Science programme is a programme to promote young scientists and is led by the BMWFW. However, it is organised in close collaboration with the BMBF (former BMUKK) as the interface between the school system and universities can only be improved by the joint efforts of both departments and well coordinated promotional measures.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

* Status quo: February 2014

Facts & Figures zum Programm

Facts & Figures der bisher geförderten Projekte

Wie hoch ist das Programm dotiert und wie lange wird es laufen?

  • Der strategische Planungshorizont des Programms ist auf zehn Jahre (2007 bis 2017) ausgelegt.
  • Sparkling Science ist mit einem Jahresbudget von drei Millionen Euro dotiert.

Wie viele Kooperationen gibt es bereits? *

Aus der Vorbereitungsphase des Programms und den bisherigen vier Ausschreibungen in den Jahren 2007, 2009, 2010 und 2012 sind insgesamt 209 Projekte (155 Forschungsprojekte und 54 Schulforschungsprojekte) hervorgegangen, wobei 168 Projekte (115 Forschungsprojekte und 53 Schulforschungsprojekte) bereits erfolgreich zu Ende geführt wurden.

Die Laufzeiten der längsten Projekte reichen bereits bis September 2016.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

Können Jugendliche wirklich in allen Forschungsprojekten mitarbeiten?

Nein. Voraussetzung für produktive Zusammenarbeit – und damit Bedingung für die Förderung eines Projektes – ist in jedem Fall, dass beide Seiten im Sinne eines Win-Win-Modells inhaltlichen Gewinn aus der Kooperation ziehen. Das Programm Sparkling Science fördert ausschließlich Projekte, in welchen die Einbindung von Schülerinnen und Schülern einen nachvollziehbaren Erkenntnismehrwert produziert – z.B. in Gestalt besonderer altersspezifischer Kompetenzen, erweiterter Feldzugänge oder zusätzlicher Zeitressourcen.

Wie umfangreich sind die Projekte im Programm „Sparkling Science“?

Je nach wissenschaftlicher Komplexität haben die Projekte des Programms sehr unterschiedliche Größenordnungen. Der Projektumfang reicht von großen Forschungsvorhaben mit einem Volumen von bis zu € 187.000,- bis hin zu sehr viel kleineren und weniger komplexen Schulforschungsprojekten, die von 2007 bis 2011 ebenfalls gefördert wurden. Große Forschungsvorhaben werden mit bis zu € 170.000,- unterstützt. Wenn Mädchen/Frauen speziell gefördert werden bzw. genderrelevante Aspekte im Zentrum des Forschungsinteresses stehen, kann diese Summe um bis zu 10% überschritten werden.

Die 30 besten Einreichungen der kleineren Schulforschungsprojekte wurden jährlich mit bis zu € 5.000,- Forschungsprämien ausgezeichnet. Diese Schulforschungsprojekte waren immer in Zusammenarbeit mit „echten“ laufenden Forschungsvorhaben, die großteils unabhängig von Sparkling Science finanziert wurden, durchzuführen.

Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Sparkling Science Promobild Copyright Martin Posset

Wie könnte so ein zukünftiges Projekt konkret aussehen?

Migrationsforscher/innen der Universität Wien und der Akademie der Wissenschaften könnten zum Beispiel gemeinsam mit 23 Schulen aus allen Wiener Bezirken ein Projekt zum Thema interkulturelles Lernen in Schulklassen entwickeln. Schülerinnen und Schüler der beteiligten Schulen würden im Rahmen von Projektunterricht und Fachbereichsarbeiten und unter Anleitung der Wissenschafter/innen eine Vielzahl kleiner sozialwissenschaftlicher Fallstudien durchführen und vergleichend auswerten.

Die Ergebnisse der Auswertung könnten sie sowohl an ihren eigenen als auch an anderen Schulen präsentieren, gemeinsame Tagungsauftritte und Medienarbeit mit den Wissenschafter/innen würden die Öffentlichkeitswirkung der Forschung maßgeblich unterstützen. Über die Lehrer/innen und die Eltern der beteiligten Jugendlichen würden die Forschungsergebnisse an Zielgruppen vermittelt werden, die ohne Kooperationen mit den Schulen unerreichbar wären. Die Erfahrung hat vielfach gezeigt: Medien berichten ausgesprochen gerne über Forschungsaktivitäten in denen Jugendliche mitwirken. Wissenschaft präsentiert sich in solchen Projekten besonders fassbar, anschaulich und sympathisch.

Dies als Beispiel für ein sozialwissenschaftlich orientiertes Kooperationsprojekt. Willkommen sind aber ausdrücklich Projekte aus allen Wissenschaftsfeldern – vor allem auch aus den Natur- und Technikwissenschaften.

Wie können Lehrer/innen entlohnt werden?

Lehrer/innen können im Rahmen des Sparkling Science-Projektes bei zusätzlichem Zeitaufwand (Wochenende, Abend, Ferien etc.) – d.h. bei anfallenden Zeiten außerhalb der Unterrichtszeit – mit Hilfe eines Werkvertrages entlohnt werden.

Bildung gehört ins BMBF – warum engagiert sich das BMWFW?

Das Programm Sparkling Science ist ein Programm zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und wird vom BMWFW geleitet. Es wird aber in engster Zusammenarbeit mit dem BMBF (ehemaliges BMUKK) durchgeführt, da die Schnittstelle zwischen Schulsystem und Universität nur durch gemeinsame Anstrengung beider Ressorts und gut akkordierte Fördermaßnahmen verbessert werden kann.

Sparkling Science Sparkling Science Sparkling Science

* Stand: Februar 2014