TeaTime4Schools

Measuring biological activity in soils with Austrian schools

In the Sparkling Science project "TeaTime4Schools", students, together with scientists from AGES and Open Science, are investigating the biological activity in Austrian soils. With the help of a simple and easy-to-use Tea Bag Index method, where standardized tea bags are buried and weighed, the students determine the decomposition rate of organic material in the soil. New insights are gained about the interaction between decomposition and microbial activity of the soil.

Over the two-year term, the Higher Federal Institute for Wine and Fruit Production in Klosterneuburg will bury teabags in different soils at four different times and determine the rate of decomposition. In addition, the microbial communities in the soil under investigation are analyzed by means of next-generation sequencing analysis. In addition, information on the methodology is given, the technical background is explained, and the data analysis and interpretation of the results are carried out together with the students and scientists involved in the project. In addition to the partnerships, 150 Austrian school classes will be involved in the project, and will determine the Tea Bag Index in soils close to their schools. The goal of the project is to create an Austrian map of decomposition. The map will be integrated into the global map of the Tea Bag Index Initiative, in which AGES is involved. All results will be presented jointly by the scientists and students at the large final workshop.

Through the project, Austria will become an innovative actor in the mapping of decomposition rates with the help of Citizen Scientists. All project partners and stakeholders are given new insights into the role of microorganisms in decomposition. Furthermore, students' awareness of the importance of the soil, its functions and its influence on the global carbon cycle and climate change will be increased.

TeaTime4Schools

Biologische Aktivität in Böden - Messungen in Zusammenarbeit mit österreichischen Schulen

Im das Sparkling Science-Projekt „TeaTime4Schools“ untersuchen Schüler/innen, gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftler/innen der AGES und Open Science, die biologische Aktivität in österreichischen Böden. Mit Hilfe der einfach anzuwendenden Tea Bag Index-Methode, bei der standardisierte Teebeutel vergraben und gewogen werden, bestimmen die Schüler/innen die Zersetzungsrate von organischem Material im Boden. Dabei werden neue Erkenntnisse über das Zusammenspiel zwischen Zersetzung und mikrobieller Besiedelung des Bodens gewonnen.

Über die zweijährige Laufzeit hinweg wird die Höhere Bundeslehranstalt für Wein- und Obstbau in Klosterneuburg zu vier Zeitpunkten Teebeutel in unterschiedlichen Böden vergraben und die Zersetzungsrate bestimmen. Darüber hinaus werden mittels Next-Generation-Sequencing-Analyse die mikrobiellen Gemeinschaften in den untersuchten Böden bzw. In begleitenden Workshops an der AGES und im Vienna Open Lab werden Informationen zur Methodik gegeben, fachliche Hintergründe erläutert und gemeinsam die Datenauswertung und Interpretation der Ergebnisse vorgenommen. Über die Partnerschule hinaus sind österreichweit 150 weiter Klassen an dem Projekt beteiligt, die den Tea Bag Index in nahe der Schule gelegenen Böden bestimmen. Ziel ist die Erstellung einer österreichischen Landkarte der Zersetzung, welche in die globale Karte der Tea Bag Index-Initiative, an der die AGES beteiligt ist, integriert wird. Sämtliche Ergebnisse werden beim großen Abschlussworkshop von den Forschenden und Jugendlichen gemeinsam präsentiert.

Durch das Projekt wird Österreich mithilfe von Citizen Scientists ein innovativer Akteur bei der Kartierung von Zersetzungsraten sein. Alle Beteiligten erhalten neue Erkenntnisse über die Rolle von Mikroorganismen in der Zersetzung. Darüber hinaus wird das Bewusstsein der Schüler/innen für die Bedeutung des Bodens, dessen Funktionen und seinen Einfluss auf den globalen Kohlenstoffkreislauf und den Klimawandel erhöht.