Modeling as a concept for writing instruction

Learning from a model, learning as a model. Modeling as a concept for writing instruction in propaedeutic content classrooms (AaMoL)

In the subject physical education, demonstrating certain courses of motions is a common method of teaching, just like teachers in Maths calculate in front of the pupils while explaining their approach to them. During these lessons, teachers model patterns of acting that the pupils have to learn and thus they become models to the learners.

The AaMoL-project takes up this idea: In a qualitative study, the project investigates the potential of model learning for scientific propaedeutical writing in the context of content classes and conceptualizes model learning from two different perspectives, namely as learning from a model and as learning as a model.

The study learning as a model investigates which thinking processes in the teachers are activated by modelling writing processes and how model learning thus can contribute to a further development of their scientific propaedeutical teaching competence.

The study learning from a model investigates which insights the pupils gain during model learning sessions for their own text production. The pupils investigate their teachers‘ text production process by observing and interviewing their teachers during a phase of model learning. Afterwards, they write down their findings in a research report that offers insights into the emic perspective of learning to the researchers. In the next step, the pupils develop concepts for learning videos on one main aspect in their research reports. These concepts will be peer-reviewed and the videos will be created during a two day workshop in Vienna and will be presented to the scientific community at an online conference.

Thereby, their collaboration in the project is drafted in a way that allows them to act as researchers themselves, to run through the important phases of a research project, to learn about scientific text types and to experience academic communicative methods. They benefit from the project not only immediately by drafting their VWA/Diplomarbeit, but also by acquiring key skills for a successful transition from secondary to tertiary education.

Modelllernen als schreibdidaktisches Konzept

Am Modell lernen, als Modell lernen. Ein schreibdidaktisches Konzept für den wissenschaftspropädeutischen Fachunterricht (AaMoL)

Im Sportunterricht gilt es als gängige Lehrhandlung, Bewegungsabläufe vorzuzeigen, im Mathematikunterricht rechnen Lehrpersonen oftmals Rechenschritte an der Tafel vor und erklären dabei ihr Vorgehen. Lehrerinnen und Lehrer modellieren in diesen Unterrichtsphasen also die zu erlernenden Handlungen für ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler und werden für sie als Modelle aktiv.

Das AaMoL-Projekt greift dieses didaktische Konzept auf und untersucht in zwei Teilstudien sein Potenzial für das (vor-)wissenschaftliche Schreiben im Fachunterricht in Deutsch als Erst-, Zweit- und Fremdsprache.

Die Teilstudie Lernen als Modell geht der Frage nach, welche Denkprozesse die Tatsache, selbst zu schreiben und das eigene Schreibhandeln für die Schülerinnen und Schüler zu modellieren, bei den Lehrpersonen auslöst und wie das Modelllernen zur Erweiterung ihrer wissenschaftspropädeutischen Lehrkompetenz beitragen kann.

In der Teilstudie Lernen am Modell erforschen die Schülerinnen und Schüler den Textproduktionsprozess ihrer Lehrpersonen, indem sie diesen beobachten und in einem retrospektiven Interview ihren Lehrpersonen auch Fragen zum Beobachteten stellen. Ihre Erkenntnisse halten sie in einem Forschungsbericht fest und ermöglichen den Forscherinnen und Forschern dadurch Einblicke in die emische Perspektive auf das Lernen. Zudem entwickeln die Schülerinnen und Schüler zu einem zentralen Aspekt ihres Forschungsberichts Konzepte für Lernvideos. Diese Konzepte durchlaufen ein Review-Verfahren, danach werden die Lernvideos an zwei Projekttagen in Wien erstellt und bei einer Online-Konferenz präsentiert. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler durchlaufen somit zentrale Phasen eines Forschungsprozesses, lernen Textsorten sowie kommunikative Praktiken des Wissenschaftsbetriebs kennen und profitieren damit nicht nur unmittelbar für das Verfassen der VWA/Diplomarbeit von dem Projekt, sondern erwerben auch Schlüsselkompetenzen für einen erfolgreichen Übergang vom sekundären zum tertiären Bildungsweg.