Sparkling Instruments

Design and Construction of Digital Music Instruments to Convey Knowledge in Music and STEM School Subjects

The project Sparkling Instruments deals with the playful design and technical development of digital music instruments. Three groups of secondary school students, among them one girls-only group, start with trying out existing instruments and music games. Then the students create playful possibilities to interact with music in a series of workshops with musicians, game designers and music technology experts, and implement them technically in the form of digital music instruments.

A closing public event is organized by the participating school students, where these instruments are presented to the school community and the public. The aim is to bridge the gap between art and technology.

In this highly interdisciplinary context, to improve the understanding of new forms of music making is a goal just as increasing interest in STEM subjects such as computer science and physics, which are involved in the construction of digital musical instruments. A special focus is fostering the interest of girls in STEM subjects.

A conceivable scenario in the project is a group of school students who design and construct a digital flute. Playing the flute is detected by analysing the airflow with a simple temperature and humidity sensor. The locking of the flute’s holes can be tracked by a light sensor. The construction of this flute requires, on the one hand, to understand the basic principles of electronics, which allows students to design the necessary circuits, and, on the other hand, to learn the necessary practical and crafting skills such as soldering. The sounds of the flute are generated by a digital synthesizer. In working with this synthesizer, students deal with digital sound generation and the associated musical parameters. With their finished instrument, they then explore possibilities of musical interaction together with their classmates.

Sparkling Instruments

Gestaltung und Bau digitaler Musikinstrumente zur Wissensvermittlung in Musikerziehung und MINT-Fächern

Das Projekt Sparkling Instruments beschäftigt sich mit der spielerischen Gestaltung und technischen Entwicklung digitaler Musikinstrumente. Drei Gruppen von Schüler/innen, davon eine reine Mädchengruppe, probieren zunächst vorhandene Instrumente und Musikspiele aus. Danach werden von den Schüler/innen in einer Reihe von Workshops mit Musiker/innen, Spiel-Designer/innen und Musiktechnik-Expert/innen spielerische Interaktionsformen mit Musik gestaltet und technisch in Form von Instrumenten umgesetzt.

Bei einer abschließenden von den Jugendlichen gestalteten öffentlichen Veranstaltung werden diese Instrumente der Schulgemeinschaft und allen anderen Interessierten vorgestellt.

Ziel ist ein Brückenschlag zwischen Kunst und Technik. In diesem stark interdisziplinären Kontext soll gleichzeitig das Verständnis für neue Formen des Musikmachens zu verbessert und das Interesse für die am Bau von digitalen Musikinstrumenten involvierten MINT-Fächer wie Informatik und Physik geweckt bzw. vertieft werden. Ein spezieller Schwerpunkt ist das Fördern des Interesses von Mädchen an MINT-Fächern.

Ein vorstellbares Szenario im Projekt ist eine Gruppe von Schüler/innen, die gemeinsam eine digitale Flöte entwerfen und konstruieren: Das Hineinblasen wird mit einem einfachen Temperatur- und Feuchtigkeitssensor erkannt. Das Zuhalten der Löcher wird z.B. über einen Lichtsensor bestimmt. Die Konstruktion dieser Flöte erfordert einerseits, Grundlagen der Elektronik zu verstehen, die es erlauben die notwendigen Schaltungen zu entwerfen, und andererseits, die nötigen Fertigkeiten, wie zum Beispiel das Löten zu erlernen, um diese praktisch umzusetzen. Die Töne der Flöte werden durch einen digitalen Synthesizer erzeugt. Im Umgang mit diesem Synthesizer setzen sich die Schüler/innen mit digitaler Klangerzeugung und den damit verbundenen musikalischen Parametern auseinander. Mit dem fertigen Instrument erkunden sie danach Möglichkeiten des musikalischen Zusammenspiels mit ihren Mitschüler/innen.