ALRAUNE

Allergy research in rural, alpine, and urban networks

ALRAUNE represented an interdisciplinary project in allergy research involving the following collaboration partners: the Department of Molecular Biology and the School of Education at the Paris Lodron University of Salzburg, the Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg, the “Pädagogische Hochschule” Salzburg, the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences and the “Höhere land- und forstwirtschaftliche Schule” in Ursprung.

The project aimed to investigate exposition versus sensitization to indoor allergens (house dust mite, cat, dog) and compared the influence of environmental factors (rural, urban and alpine habitats) on the development of allergic diseases. The central working team was formed by school pupils and teachers in education who interacted closely with the scientists and the School of Education. The team designed a questionnaire, collected data, recruited study participants, performed laboratory experiments, and evaluated the study. In parallel, information and teaching material on allergy research was provided by the team.

ALRAUNE investigated exposition versus sensitization in 500 pupils in the county of Salzburg using microarray and ELISA technology. A questionnaire further evaluated the living environment and habits of the adolescents. It was important that pupils from different regions are participating in the study in order to provide insight to environmental factors that might contribute to the allergic sensitization. Results were disseminated via local media to the general public.

Furthermore, scientific papers were published and data was discussed at national and international conferences. In addition, the team organized specific science communication events, where experts together with school pupils and teachers in education actively participated. ALRAUNE has reached a sustainable effect by establishing a new lecture for basic education of teachers at the School of Education, as well as for further training at the “Pädagogische Hochschule” in Salzburg. Thus, a closer interaction of academic scientists, education and training institutions has been achieved. *

Within the framework of the additional Citizen Science element citizens can contribute to the development of an online questionnaire which deals with allergies and lifestyle. Their contribution to the ideas and experiences supports the improvement of the diagnosis and therapy of allergies.

This project has been completed.

For more information visit www.youngscience.at/alraune_en

* Text: Project management

This project has been completed.

ALRAUNE

Allergieforschung in ruralen, alpinen und urbanen Netzen

Interesse am Mitforschen? Dieses Projekt nimmt am Citizen Science Award 2016 teil. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter www.youngscience.at/CSaward_alraune.



ALRAUNE war ein interdisziplinäres Projekt in der Allergieforschung und beteiligte folgende Projektpartner: Paris Lodron Universität Salzburg, Fachbereich Molekulare Biologie und School of Education; Paracelsus Medizinische Universität Salzburg, Pädagogische Hochschule Salzburg, Fachhochschule Salzburg und die höhere land- und forstwirtschaftliche Schule Ursprung.

Im Zentrum des Forschungsprojekts stand die Untersuchung von Exposition und Sensibilisierung auf Allergene im Hausstaub (Milbe, Katze und Hund). Die Schüler/innen und Lehrer/innen in Ausbildung waren im Rahmen einer Arbeitsgemeinschaft (AG) direkt in das Forschungsprojekt eingebunden. Die AG arbeitete eng mit den Wissenschaftler/innen und der School of Education zusammen und war in folgende Aufgaben involviert: Fragebogenentwicklung, Akquise der Proband/innen, ausgewählte Laborexperimente und Datenanalyse. Parallel dazu entwickelte die AG Unterrichtsmittel sowie Infomaterial für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zum Thema Allergie.

Im Projekt ALRAUNE wurde die IgE Sensibilisierung und Exposition von 500 Schüler/innen aus dem Bundesland Salzburg mittels Microarrays und ELISA erhoben. Ein speziell dafür entwickelter Fragebogen sollte Aufschluss über die Lebensumstände und Gewohnheiten der Jugendlichen geben. Wichtig war, dass die Schüler/innen aus unterschiedlichen Regionen kamen um mögliche Umwelt- und Risikofaktoren für die Entstehung einer allergischen Sensibilisierung zu erkennen.

Das Projekt und die Resultate der Studie wurden sowohl durch Pressearbeit, als auch durch Publikationen in fachspezifischen Journalen, Präsentationen auf nationalen und internationalen Kongressen und Wissenschaftskommunikationsveranstaltungen dargestellt. Im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Vermittlung und Verankerung von Kompetenzen und der Vernetzung von Wissenschaftler/innen und Bildungspartnern fand während des Projekts an der Universität Salzburg eine Lehrveranstaltung für Studierende und eine Lehrer/innen-Fortbildung in Kooperation mit der PH statt. *

Dieses Projekt ist ein Young Citizen Science-Pilotprojekt.

Im Rahmen des zusätzlichen Citizen Science-Bausteins können Bürgerinnen und Bürger bei der Entwicklung eines Online-Fragebogens zum Thema Allergie & Lifestyle mitwirken. Der Beitrag zu ihren Vorstellungen und Erfahrungen unterstützt die Verbesserung derzeitiger Allergie-Diagnostik und Therapie.

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.

Nähere Informationen unter www.youngscience.at/alraune

* Text: Projektleitung

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.