BreadTime

Lesachtaler Bread in Intergenerational Dialogue

“BreadTime” (BrotZeit) focuses on the cultural sustainability and the manifold agricultural and manual practices of the cultivation and processing of grains and the production of bread. The goal of the project is the analysis, protection and documentation of local knowledge and practice related to the immaterial cultural heritage of “Lesachtal Bread”.

The project is organised along with the HLW Hermagor, the Education Centre Lesachtal and local associations. The collaboration with the schools allows the intergenerational transfer of know-how and direct inclusion of students in traditional practices concerning bread.

Living traditions change in quotidian action, integrating the new and the foreign, altering with living situations – these traditions are thereby shaped anew again and again. This dynamic process of transfer and application of local knowledge and practice, as well as the meaning of these living traditions for the local community, lies at the centre of the research focus. The reflection of intergenerational encounters with local cultural heritage requires a manifold process of communication and interaction; it culminates in the individual and collective learning experiences of the participants.

In order to treat the tradition of the “Lesachtal Bread” culture in a contemporary and future-oriented way, suitable means of communication and performance are being developed and realised in collaboration with local activists. An interdisciplinary team from areas such as sociology, education, history and landscape planning is working on the project “BreadTime” (BrotZeit). The project itself is transdisciplinary – reaching beyond science – through its collaboration with schools, community and local association.

BrotZeit

Lesachtaler Brot im intergenerationellen Dialog

„BrotZeit“ widmete sich der kulturellen Nachhaltigkeit der vielfältigen landwirtschaftlichen und handwerklichen Praktiken zum Anbau und zur Verarbeitung von Getreide und der Herstellung von Brot. Ziel war die Untersuchung, Sicherung und Dokumentation des lokalen Wissens und der Praktiken zum immateriellen Kulturerbe „Lesachtaler Brot“.

Das Projekt wurde im Kärntner Lesachtal gemeinsam mit der HLW Hermagor, dem Bildungszentrum Lesachtal und lokalen Vereinen durchgeführt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Schulen ermöglichte die intergenerationelle Weitergabe von Erfahrungswissen und der direkten Einbeziehung von Schüler/innen in traditionelle Praktiken zum Brot.

Lebendige Traditionen verändern sich im alltäglichen Handeln, sie integrieren Neues und Fremdes, wandeln sich mit den Lebensumständen und entstehen dadurch immer wieder neu. Dieser dynamische Prozess der Weitergabe und der Anwendung von lokalem Wissen und Praktiken sowie die Bedeutung dieser gelebten Traditionen für die örtliche Gemeinschaft stand im Zentrum des Forschungsinteresses. Die Reflexion der intergenerationellen Begegnungen zum lokalen Kulturerbe erforderte vielfältige Kommunikations- und Interaktionsprozesse und mündete in individuellen und kollektiven Lernerfahrungen der Beteiligten.

Um die Traditionen zur Lesachtaler Brotkultur zeitgemäß und zukunftsgerecht aufzubereiten, wurden gemeinsam mit den lokalen Akteur/innen passende Vermittlungs- und Inszenierungsformen entwickelt und umgesetzt. Am Projekt „BrotZeit“ arbeitete ein interdisziplinäres Team aus Soziologie, Erziehungswissenschaften, Geschichte und Landschaftsplanung; transdisziplinär – über die Wissenschaft hinaus – ist das Projekt durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Schule, Gemeinde und lokalen Vereinen.

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.