CSI: TRACE your FOOD!

Determination of provenance of food from regional production in Austria on the basis of multi-element and isotopic fingerprinting

The thematic focus of the project Classroom Science Interaction "CSI: TRACE your FOOD" is the systematic determination of unique chemical fingerprints in food from different regions in Austria for the unambiguous determination of origin.

A key objective is to determine the relationship between environmental factors (geology, soil, water chemistry, sea level, etc.) and the chemical composition of selected food commodities. Fish – as a special case – allows a time resolved link of the environment to the ear stone chemistry and thus to the life history of fish. As a consequence, the verification of new regulations is enabled regarding the labeling of fish from aquaculture according to their origin. Finally, chemical maps for the mapping of regional products in Austria, as well as an online tool for the statistical testing of samples of unknown origin will be developed.

To ensure the practical and legal relevance of the results, the project is conducted in cooperation with the Austrian Agency for Health and Food Safety (AGES) and the Agrarmarkt Austria GesmbH (AMA). Students from ten schools in all nine provinces develop the regional basis for the study (local products, environmental data, etc.) as scientists, mainly based on Web-based tools ("Citizen Science"). Within the framework of "Science Tours" the schools are visited by the university experts and the sampling of environmental samples and foods is carried out jointly. The scientific exchange and discourse takes place regularly in virtual classrooms ("Virtual Science Labs"). Within the frame of the so called "Science Camp" it is possible to visit the VIRIS laboratory at BOKU-Tulln. At the end of the project the final results are presented to the public during a "Austria-snack" attended by all participating schools and the collaborating partners AGES and AMA.

This project has a Top Citizen Science-extension project.

The aim of the project "IsoPROTECT: Protecting regional food production in Austria by isotopic and multi-elemental fingerprinting" is the systematic creation of a terrestrial and aquatic isotopic landscape of Austria for determining the origin of regionally produced food. For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/isoprotect

* Text: Project management

CSI: TRACE your FOOD!

Herkunftsbestimmung von Nahrungsmitteln aus regionaler Produktion in Österreich anhand des Multielement- und Isotopenfingerabdrucks

Der thematische Schwerpunkt des Projekts Classroom-Science-Interaction „CSI: TRACE your FOOD!“ liegt auf der systematischen Bestimmung von eindeutigen chemischen Fingerabdrücken in Nahrungsmitteln aus unterschiedlichen Regionen in Österreich zur eindeutigen Herkunftsbestimmung.

Ein wesentliches Ziel ist die Ermittlung des Zusammenhangs zwischen Umweltfaktoren (Geologie, Boden, Wasserchemie, Seehöhe, etc.) und der chemischen Zusammensetzung der Lebensmittel. Bei Fischen – als besonderer Spezialfall – kann dieser Umweltbezug anhand der Gehörsteinchemie zeitaufgelöst hergestellt werden. In weiterer Folge können somit neue Verordnungen bezüglich der Herkunftskennzeichnung von Fischen aus österreichischer Aquakultur überprüfbar gemacht werden. Letztendlich sollen chemische Landkarten für die Zuordnung regionaler Produkte zu den entsprechenden Herkunftsregionen in Österreich sowie ein Online-Tool zur statistischen Überprüfung von Proben unbekannter Herkunft entstehen.

Um die praktisch-rechtliche Relevanz der Ergebnisse sicherzustellen, wird das Projekt in Kooperation mit der Österreichischen Agentur für Gesundheit und Ernährungssicherheit (AGES) und der Agrarmarkt Austria GesmbH (AMA) durchgeführt. Schüler/innen aus zehn Schulen in allen neun Bundesländern erarbeiten als Wissenschaftler/innen die regionalen Grundlagen (regionale Produkte, Umweltdaten, etc.) für die Durchführung der Studie v.a. anhand von webbasierten Werkzeugen („Citizen Science“). Im Rahmen von „Science Tours“ werden die Schulen von den Universitätsexpert/innen besucht und gemeinsam die Probennahme von Umweltproben und Nahrungsmitteln durchgeführt. Der wissenschaftliche Austausch und Diskurs findet regelmäßig in virtuellen Klassenzimmern statt („Virtual Science Labs“). Im Rahmen sogenannter „Science Camps“ besteht die Möglichkeit das VIRIS Labor am BOKU-Standort Tulln zu besuchen. Den Abschluss des Projekts bildet eine „Österreich-Jause“ unter Teilnahme der beteiligten Schulen und Kooperationspartner AGES und AMA, bei der die Endergebnisse der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert werden.

Dieses Projekt hat ein Top Citizen Science-Erweiterungsprojekt.

Ziel des Projekts „IsoPROTECT: Schutz regionaler Nahrungsmittelproduktion in Österreich durch Isotopen- und Multielementfingerabdrücke" ist die Erstellung einer Boden- und Wasserisotopenlandkarte Österreichs, mit der die Herkunft regionaler Lebensmittel überprüft werden kann. Nähere Informationen unter www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/isoprotect-austria

* Text: Projektleitung