Nature in your Backyard – Citizen Science for Schools

Enjoy, explore and protect biodiversity

Nature conservation and the implementation of nature conservation objectives are societal concerns. Most nature conservation policies aim at protecting rare and endangered species and habitats. Common species in urban areas have not received much attention although population declines have also been observed. Wildlife gardens, parks and other green areas play an important role as refugia in intensive agricultural landscapes for several declining species which were common in traditional cultural landscapes. Interested citizens can observe wildlife in their backyards in both rural and urban areas. Biodiversity education should start in early childhood in order to engage and inspire people’s interest in nature, biodiversity and citizen science. Citizen science describes research where amateurs (in the original sense of the Latin word amator = “enthusiast”) or nonprofessional scientists report observations, measure patterns or analyse data.

This project aims to:

(i) record biodiversity by means of indicator species groups (hedgehogs, wild bees, birds and butterflies) in gardens and parks nearby partner schools. Students used innovative and experimental survey methods to monitor a set of common and easy-to-determine butterfly, wild bee and bird species. Methods and species sets were evaluated regarding their suitability for citizen science projects with schools.

(ii) analyse the relationship between garden management, landscape structure and the presence of the selected indicator species. The outcome was used to identify best practice recommendations for nature-friendly garden management.

(iii) investigate motivation and factors promoting engagement and commitment of students to biodiversity and citizen science in gardens and parks.

Our research design required a broad, interdisciplinary project design as we seek to answer a variety of natural scientific, socio-scientific and didactic research questions. Indoor and outdoor training sessions enabled teachers and students to perform surveys on garden management and to gather data on indicator species groups. Landscape structure and additional checks on data quality were performed by scientists and bachelor or master students. We engaged students of nearly all age classes and school types (primary, secondary, etc.) from Vienna and Lower Austria during all stages of the project and included ongoing feedback mechanisms to optimise the project design for a sustainable, long-term citizen science project.

Students were engaged in local public relations activities supported by the project partners (BirdLife, LANIUS, MA22, Naturschutzbund Österreich, Natur im Garten, Niederösterreichische Naturschutzakademie) to promote nature-friendly gardening in their local area. This citizen science project improved students’ knowledge on species, habitat-species relationships, and it raised awareness towards the importance of man-made habitats such as gardens and parks for biodiversity conservation at the doorstep.

This project was a Young Citizen Science pilot project.

Within the framework of the additional Citizen Science element “Hedgehogs on their way! Punks in our gardens” citizens recorded the occurrence of hedgehogs by means of installing simple hedgehog tunnels. In this way data regarding the prevalence of hedgehogs could be collected all over Austria for the first time and recommendations for hedgehog-friendly gardening can be developed.

For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/hedgehogs-on-their-way

This project has been completed.

Natur vor der Haustür – Citizen Science macht Schule

Biodiversität erleben, erforschen, erhalten

Interesse am Mitforschen? Dieses Projekt nahm am Citizen Science Award 2016 teil. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter www.youngscience.at/CSaward_igel.


Die meisten Ziele und Instrumente im Naturschutz zielen darauf ab, seltene und/oder bedrohte Arten und Lebensräume zu schützen. Häufigere Arten, die im direkten Siedlungsumfeld des Menschen vorkommen, werden oftmals nicht berücksichtigt, obwohl auch hier Bestandsrückgänge dokumentiert worden sind. Naturnahe Gärten, Parks und andere Grünflächen sind wesentliche Refugien für Arten, die in der modernen, ausgeräumten Kulturlandschaft im Rückgang begriffen sind. Durch ihr Vorkommen in Siedlungen, besteht die Chance, dass interessierte Personen sie „vor der Haustür“ erheben. Da der Grundstein für das Interesse für Natur und Biodiversität in der Kindheit gelegt wird, ist es wichtig, bereits Kinder und Jugendliche für Artenvielfalt und Natur „vor der Haustür“ zu begeistern und sie zu „next generation citizen scientists“ zu machen. „Citizen Science“ bezeichnet Forschungsprojekte, in denen interessierte Laien oder Amateure (im Sinne vom lat. amator = „Liebhaber“) Beobachtungen melden, Messungen durchführen oder Daten auswerten.

Das Projekt verfolgte folgende Ziele:

(i) Erfassung der Biodiversität in Gärten und Parks in der Nähe der Projektschulen anhand ausgewählter Zielarten(gruppen) durch Schülerinnen und Schüler. Mit innovativen Methoden wurden Igel und ein Set leicht kenntlicher Tagfalter-, Wildbienen-, und Vogelarten erhoben. Die Methoden wurden auf ihre Eignung für die Erhebung aussagekräftiger Daten durch Schülerinnen und Schüler vom Projektteam getestet.

(ii) Analyse des Zusammenhangs zwischen dem Vorkommen der Zielarten und der Gartenbewirtschaftung und -struktur sowie der Landnutzungsstruktur der Umgebung und davon Ableitung von best practice Beispielen für eine biodiversitätsfördernde Gartenbewirtschaftung.

(iii) Erforschung der Motivation und Motivierbarkeit von Schülerinnen und Schüler für die Teilnahme an einem Citizen Science-Projekt in Gärten und Parks und generell für ein Engagement im Naturschutz.

Im Rahmen des Projekts Natur vor der Haustür wurde mit einer sehr großen Bandbreite an verschiedenen Schultypen kooperiert: von Volks-, Sonder-, Hauptschulen, Neue Mittelschulen, Gymnasien über jeweils einer Montessorischule, einer HTL und HAK/HAS in Wien und Niederösterreich. Das Forschungsdesign erforderte einen breiten Ansatz, da sowohl natur- wie sozialwissenschaftliche und fachdidaktische Fragestellungen untersucht wurden. Befragungen und Felderhebungen wurden nach einer fundierten Einschulung der Lehrpersonen, Schülerinnen und Schüler mit spielerischen Methoden in erster Linie von den Kindern und Jugendlichen durchgeführt. Ergänzende Parameter (wie die Ausstattung der Umgebung) wurden vom Forscherteam mit Studierenden erhoben und analysiert. Grundprinzipien waren einerseits, Lehrpersonen, Schülerinnen und Schüler das Projektdesign in jeder Phase mitgestalten zu lassen, und anderseits, das Design auf längerfristige Aktivitäten der Schule, idealerweise ein langjähriges Monitoring, auszulegen.

Das Projekt sollte durch eigenständige Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Schulen vor Ort und durch die Unterstützung der Kooperationspartner (BirdLife, LANIUS, MA22, Naturschutzbund Österreich, Natur im Garten, Niederösterreichische Naturschutzakademie) bekannt gemacht werden und dadurch zu konkreten Umsetzungsprojekten für die Verbesserung der Habitatqualität in Gärten und anderen Grünflächen führen. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler sammelten in diesem Citizen Science-Projekt nicht nur Daten über Gartenbewirtschaftung und Biodiversität in Gärten, sondern sollten auch einen Beitrag zur Bewusstseinsbildung für Natur im Garten leisten.*

Dieses Projekt ist ein Young Citizen Science-Pilotprojekt.

Im Rahmen des zusätzlichen Citizen Science-Bausteins „Die Igel sind los! Punks in unseren Gärten“ erheben Bürgerinnen und Bürger das Vorkommen des Igels durch das Aufstellen einfacher Igeltunnel. Damit können erstmals österreichweit Verbreitungsdaten gesammelt und Empfehlungen für die igelfreundliche Gartenbewirtschaftung entwickelt werden.

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.

Nähere Informationen unter www.youngscience.at/igel

* Text: Projektleitung

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.