"De-registered"

The forced displacement of the St. Pölten Jews to collections flats in Vienna, 1938-42

The eviction and forced displacement to so-called collection flats within their hometowns and in Vienna are barely being mentioned in the ego documents of the Jews and Jewesses dislodged from Lower Austria between 1939-1942. Neither the affected persons themselves nor the historians researching the Shoah attributed high importance to this initial displacement; it was too much overshadowed by the subsequent traumatic events. The present project looked therefore for the first time into the hitherto unevaluated archival material and life historical sources in order to examine the administrative and regulatory processes on the one hand and the impact on those affected on the other hand.

Two seventh grade classes of two high schools in St. Pölten (approximately 50 students) looked into the family history and social situation of Jews and Jewesses in their home town before 1938 and into their life realities in those collection flats. Based on their own reflection on the meaning of living and being at home, the adolescents discussed the information gained on forced displacement within the Jewish ego documents. Wolfgang Gasser documented their cognitive process.

In a second sub-project Philipp Mettauer researched the organisation and processing of forced displacements by National Socialist authorities. Furthermore, number, location, size and furnishings of those collection flats in Vienna as well as the life realities and the freedom of action of its inhabitants were looked into. For the reconstruction of living conditions and social networks from those displaced from St. Pölten, he used the students’ research results. Further, some pupils voluntarily organised a meeting of St. Pölten Jews’ descendants. Beyond that project, the “learning and memorial site – former synagogue St. Pölten” was extended.


This project has a Top Citizen Science-extension project.

In the project „Our expelled Neighbours: Jews in Central Lower Austria – Research and Commemorative Culture“ of the Institute for Jewish History in Austria citizens are invited to look in their archives for memories like objects, pictures, documents and letters. The aim of the project is to find out more about various aspects of Christian-Jewish coexistence before, during and after the war – friendship, school, professional and everyday life. For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/our-expelled-neighbours

* Text: Project management

This project has been completed.

„Abgemeldet“

Die Zwangsumsiedlung der St. Pöltner Jüdinnen und Juden in Wiener Sammelwohnungen 1938-42

Die Delogierung und Zwangsumsiedlung in sogenannte Sammelwohnungen am Wohnort und in Wien werden in den Selbstzeugnissen der 1938-1942 aus Niederösterreich vertriebenen Jüdinnen und Juden kaum erwähnt. Weder die Betroffenen selbst noch die zur Shoah forschenden Historiker/innen maßen dieser ersten Vertreibung große Bedeutung zu; zu sehr wurde sie von den nachfolgenden traumatischen Ereignissen überschattet. Das vorliegende Projekt untersuchte daher erstmals die behördliche Abwicklung einerseits und die Auswirkungen auf die Betroffenen andererseits anhand von bisher unausgewertetem Archivmaterial und lebensgeschichtlichen Quellen.

Im ersten Teilprojekt forschten zwei siebte Klassen zweier St. Pöltner Realgymnasien (ca. 50 Schüler/innen) zur Familiengeschichte und sozialen Lage der Jüdinnen und Juden ihrer Heimatstadt vor 1938 ebenso wie zu deren Lebensrealität in den Sammelwohnungen. Basierend auf der eigenen Reflexion, was Wohnen und zu Hause Sein bedeutet, diskutierten die Jugendlichen die Informationen zur Zwangsumsiedlung in den jüdischen Selbstzeugnissen. Wolfgang Gasser dokumentierte ihren Erkenntnisprozess.

Im zweiten Teilprojekt erforschte Philipp Mettauer sowohl die Organisation und Durchführung der Zwangsumsiedlung durch die NS-Behörden als auch Anzahl, Lage, Größe und Ausstattung der Sammelwohnungen in Wien sowie die Lebensrealitäten und Handlungsspielräume ihrer Bewohner/innen. Zur Rekonstruktion der Lebensbedingungen und sozialen Netzwerke der aus St. Pölten Umgesiedelten zog er die Forschungsergebnisse der Schüler/innen heran. Zudem konnten einige Jugendliche freiwillig ein Nachkommentreffen der St. Pöltner Juden und Jüdinnen organisieren. Über das Projekt hinaus wurde der „Lern- und Gedenkort ehemalige Synagoge St. Pölten“ ausgebaut.

Dieses Projekt hat ein Top Citizen Science-Erweiterungsprojekt.

„Unsere vertriebenen Nachbarn: Juden im niederösterreichischen Zentralraum – Forschung und Erinnerungskultur“, ein Projekt des Instituts für jüdische Geschichte Österreichs, wird Bürgerinnen und Bürger in Niederösterreich einladen, in ihren Archiven nach Erinnerungen wie Objekten, Fotos, Dokumenten und Briefen zu suchen. Ziel ist es, mehr über das christlich-jüdische Zusammenleben, über Aspekte wie Freundschaft, Schule, Berufs- und Alltagsleben vor, während und nach dem Krieg zu erfahren. Nähere Informationen unter www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/our-expelled-neighbours

* Text: Projektleitung

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.