ELWIRA

Plants, wood, steel, concrete - a lifecycle as construction materials

Construction materials strongly influence performances of buildings. Not only specific material properties are taken into account when selecting latest constructional standards, but rather all life cycle phases will be evaluated starting with the extraction of building materials, the following usage/application phase through to their recycling (via a material cycle). In the area of water and earth works in addition to the conventional building materials such as timber, steel and concrete there are also increasingly used soil bioengineering building materials. Live plants take over technical functions.

The construction technology of soil bioengineering has a long tradition, but at the beginning of the 20th century it sank into oblivion through new river regulation techniques with an increased use of concrete and steel. Initiated through an increased environmental awareness and sustainability thinking this technology in civil engineering now undergoes a renaissance. Soil bioengineering structures use combinations of plants with locally available auxiliary materials (wood and stone) as well as plants with classical conventional building materials.

Classic-conventional living and building materials are evaluated integrally and subjected to a life cycle assessment in the project "ELWIRA". The unique combination of laboratory and field methods based on the scientific expertise of the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences at the Department of Civil Engineering and Natural Hazards will be applied. The teaching and research activities cover both fields of engineering sciences, the classical as well as the "new" living building materials.

High school students cooperate with scientists of the Department of Soil Bioengineering and Landscape Construction and the Department of Structural Engineering to quantify and evaluate properties of different materials in terms of their life cycle through the use of different laboratory and field methods. These results provide an important contribution to a sustainable, climate-friendly and resource conserving dealing with building materials.

ELWIRA

Pflanzen, Holz, Stahl, Beton - Ein Leben und Wirken als Bau- und Werkstoff

Baustoffe prägen Bauwerke nachhaltig. Bei der Auswahl aktuellster bautechnischer Standards werden nicht nur spezifische Baustoffeigenschaften berücksichtigt, sondern es werden sämtliche Lebenszyklen beginnend mit der Herstellung aus Rohstoffen, der folgenden Nutzung, bis hin zur Rückführung in den Stoffkreislauf bewertet. Im Bereich des Wasser- und Erdbaus werden neben den klassischen-konventionellen Baustoffen Holz, Stahl und Beton auch vermehrt ingenieurbiologische Baustoffe eingesetzt. Lebende Pflanzen übernehmen technische Funktionen.

Die Bautechnik der Ingenieurbiologie hat eine lange Tradition, am Beginn des 20. Jahrhundert geriet sie durch Flussregulierungen mit einer vermehrten Verwendung von Beton und Stahl zunehmend in Vergessenheit und erlebt nun durch ein gestiegenes Umweltbewusstsein und Nachhaltigkeitsdenken eine Renaissance im Ingenieurbau. Es werden sowohl ingenieurbiologische Bauwerke mit Pflanzen und vor Ort verfügbaren Hilfsstoffen (Holz und Stein) als auch Pflanzen mit klassisch-konventionellen Baustoffe kombiniert.

Im Projekt „ELWIRA“ werden erstmals klassisch-konventionelle und lebende Baustoffe integral bewertet und einer Lebenszyklusbetrachtung unterzogen. Als Basis dient die einzigartige Konstellation von Labor- und Feldmethoden und wissenschaftlichem Know-how der Universität für Bodenkultur am Department für Bautechnik und Naturgefahren. Hier wird auf dem Gebiet der Ingenieurwissenschaften sowohl an klassischen als auch an „neuen“ lebenden Baustoffen geforscht und gelehrt.

Gemeinsam quantifizieren und bewerten Schüler/innen mit dem Institut für Konstruktiven Ingenieurbau und dem Institut für Ingenieurbiologie und Landschaftsbau durch den Einsatz unterschiedlichster Methoden Baustoffeigenschaften hinsichtlich ihres Lebenszyklus. Diese Ergebnisse liefern einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einem nachhaltigen, klimafreundlichen und ressourcenschonenden Umgang mit Baustoffen.