Woody Woodpecker

Woodanatomical analyses of conifers at the alpine timberline

Wood – an important natural product and an essential tissue for trees. Structure-function relationships of wood are not completely understood and thus major research goals. This project dealt with wood-anatomical and functional traits of trees at the alpine timberline.

This project focussd on (i) an inter-specific comparison of the wood anatomy of different timberline species (ii) an intra-specific comparison along elevational transects and (iii) on wood formation and hydraulic functions. The project was conducted by the Institut für Botanik of the Universität Innsbruck in cooperation with BORG Dornbirn, School of Education Innsbruck, Natura 2000 Gebiet Montafon and WSL Birmensdorf Schweiz.

In cooperation with school children from elective subject classes (grade 10-12, 10-15 pupils respectively) wood cores were taken along elevational transects at field days in Montafon, Vorarlberg and in Praxmar, Tirol. After preparation of microscopic samples, anatomical analyses were performed via image analyses software. In addition, studies on wood formation and tomography experiments were planned. Results were presented in international scientific journals as well as in public relation activities. Involved children presented the project at the “Woody Woodpecker-Fest”, and the Institut für Botanik and WSL was visited during excursions. The project was didactically advised and evaluated. In addition, a Woody-Woodpecker-module was developed, which offers an activity programme for other schools to be used at excursions (140 pupils, grade 7-12).

This project resulted in scientifically valid data sets on the one hand and offer school children to experience science on the other hand. Pupils not only improveed their knowledge about wood anatomy and tree physiology but also leart scientific strategies and research methods. Thus pupils, teachers and involved scientists profited from the project, which will form the basis for future cooperation.

This project has a Top Citizen Science-extension project.

The aim of the project "CITREE – City Trees Citizen Science” is the monitoring of urban trees considering their crucial functions for humans such as improving the microclimate and air. CITREE will therefore develop a tool for citizens to monitor urban tree growth. For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/citree

* Text: Project management

This project has been completed.

Woody Woodpecker

Holzanatomische Analysen von Nadelbäumen der alpinen Waldgrenze

Holz – für uns ein unersetzbares Naturprodukt, für Bäume ein lebenswichtiges Gewebe. Die Zusammenhänge zwischen dem Aufbau des Holzes und seinen physiologischen Funktionen sind erst teilweise verstanden und deshalb Inhalt intensiver Forschungen. Dieses Projekt beschäftigt sich mit holzanatomischen und funktionellen Aspekten von Bäumen an der alpinen Waldgrenze.

Im vorliegendem Projekt soll (i) ein inter-spezifischer Vergleich der Holzanatomie verschiedener Waldgrenzarten und ein (ii) intra-spezifischer Vergleich entlang von Höhentransekten durchgeführt werden. Ergänzend sollen (iii) Analysen zur Holzbildung und hydraulischen Funktion erfolgen. Das Projekt wird durch das Institut für Botanik der Universität Innsbruck mit den Kooperationspartnern BORG Dornbirn, School of Education Innsbruck, Natura 2000 Gebiet Montafon und WSL Birmensdorf Schweiz durchgeführt.

Gemeinsam mit Schüler/innen von Wahlpflichtfachklassen (je 10-15 Schüler/innen, 10.-12. Schulstufe) sollen im Rahmen von Feldtagen im Montafon, Vorarlberg und in Praxmar, Tirol entlang von Höhentransekten Bohrkerne entnommen werden. Nach der Herstellung von mikroskopischen Präparaten soll die Anatomie mittels Bildanalysesystem erfasst werden. Zusätzlich erfolgen Untersuchungen zur Holzbildung und tomographische Analysen von Bäumen. Die Ergebnisse sollen in internationalen Fachzeitschriften und populärwissenschaftlich veröffentlicht werden, die Schüler/innen werden das Projekt beim „Woody Woodpecker-Fest" präsentieren. Im Rahmen von Exkursionen soll das Institut für Botanik und die WSL besucht werden. Das Projekt wird fachdidaktisch begleitet und evaluiert, außerdem wird ein Woody Woodpecker-Modul entwickelt, das im Rahmen von Wandertagen genutzt werden kann (140 Schüler/innen, 7.-12. Schulstufe).

Dieses Projekt wird einerseits wissenschaftlich verwertbare Daten liefern und anderseits Schüler/innen das unmittelbare Erleben von Wissenschaft ermöglichen. Die Schüler/innen sollen nicht nur Fachwissen in den Bereichen Holzanatomie und Baumphysiologie erwerben, sondern auch wissenschaftliche Strategien und Forschungsmethoden erlernen. Damit werden sowohl die beteiligten Schüler/innen und Lehrer/innen als auch die Wissenschaftler/innen vom Projekt profitieren und dieses wird einen Grundstein für zukünftige Kooperationen bilden.

Dieses Projekt hat ein Top Citizen Science-Erweiterungsprojekt.

Ziel des Projekts „CITREE – City Trees Citizen Science” ist die Beobachtung von urbanen Gehölzen vor dem Hintergrund, dass diese wichtige Funktionen für Menschen in Städten erfüllen, u. a. verbessern sie die Luft und das Mikroklima. Dazu wird ein Instrument zum öffentlichen Monitoring des Baumwachstums durch Bürgerinnen und Bürger entwickelt. Nähere Informationen unter www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/citree

* Text: Projektleitung