Phenology is moving

Impact of weather and climate on the phenology of indigenous woody plants and arable crops

Phenology investigates the relationship between seasonal climate and seasonal cycle of plants and animals. Its importance as natural climate indicator has risen much due to the recent climate change discussion. Plants can be looked upon as sensitive instruments integrating the climate of the lower atmosphere. During the last decades a general shift towards earlier entry dates of the phenological spring and summer phases has been observed at mid and high latitudes of the northern hemisphere. The impacts of the observed rise in temperature and shift of phenological phases on ecology and agriculture are still difficult to assess. Phenology exemplifies the possible impact of systematically rising temperatures on nature well. It causes shifts of leaf unfolding, flowering and fruit ripening to earlier entry dates, which can easily be observed by the nature enthusiast.

While working for “NaturVerrückt” (“Verrückt” has a double meaning in German, it means crazy and shifted, which should indicate that the atmosphere might behave crazy in recent years and that phenological entry dates have been shifting as a consequence) pupils of five agricultural schools in Austria collect phenological data from hedges, which are composed of a number of different wild shrubs. They are to be specifically planted for this project on the agricultural trial sites at their schools. A special phenological app will be developed with the pupils, which offers the possibility to enter phenological observations, which are then directly transmitted to the phenological data base of the ZAMG. Thus data will also be generally available for education and research. At the school premises weather stations will be installed and operated. The atmospheric data will serve as a basis to study the relationship between the seasonal climate development and the phenology of wild shrubs of the hedges and agricultural plants. The seasonal development of the plants at the schools and the current state of the work of the pupils can be tracked in near real time on the web by anyone interested.*

This project is a Young Citizen Science pilot project.

Within the framework of the additional Citizen Science element “Phenology is moving” citizens can take photographs of the development of the autumnal foliage and send the pictures to the research institution online via app. In this way they will support research on the causes of the shifting of the start of the autumnal colouring of the leaves and fall of leaves.

This project has been completed.

For more information visit www.youngscience.at/farb_verrueckt_en

* Text: Project management

NaturVerrückt

Auswirkung von Wetter und Klima auf die Phänologie heimischer Wildgehölze und landwirtschaftlicher Kulturpflanzen

Interesse am Mitforschen? Dieses Projekt nimmt am Citizen Science Award 2016 teil. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter www.youngscience.at/CSaward_obstverrueckt.


Die Forschungsdisziplin der Phänologie untersucht Zusammenhänge der Pflanzen- und Tierentwicklung mit dem jahreszeitlichen Witterungsverlauf und wird als Klimaimpaktindikator immer wichtiger. Pflanzen wirken dabei als sehr empfindliche, integrierende Messinstrumente der bodennahen Atmosphäre und reagieren mit zunehmend früheren Blüte- oder Fruchtzeitpunkten unmittelbar auf die „verrückte“ Temperaturentwicklung der letzten Jahre. Die Folgen sind vielfach noch nicht abschätzbare Auswirkungen auf Natur und Landwirtschaft. Mit systematischen phänologischen Beobachtungen des Zeitpunktes von Austrieb, Blüte oder Fruchtreife können die Konsequenzen des globalen Temperaturanstiegs auch von Laien gut erkannt werden.

Im Forschungsprojekt NaturVerrückt erheben Schüler/innen aus fünf landwirtschaftlichen Fachschulen wissenschaftlich fundierte phänologische Daten an eigens gepflanzten Hecken und auf ihren landwirtschaftlichen Versuchsflächen. Über eine gemeinsam mit den Jugendlichen entwickelte Phäno-App werden die Daten von den Klassen direkt in das phänologische Beobachtungsnetzwerk der Zentralanstalt für Meteorologie und Geodynamik (ZAMG) sowie die europäische phänologische Datenbank eingespeist und stehen so auch anderen Forschungs- und Bildungsinitiativen zur Verfügung. Mithilfe von am Schulgelände erhobenen Witterungsdaten werden Zusammenhänge zwischen Temperaturverlauf und Naturentwicklung der Wildgehölze und landwirtschaftlichen Kulturarten erforscht und so Auswirkungen der Klimaänderung analysiert. Die jeweilige Naturentwicklung an den Schulstandorten und die „naturverrückte“ Forschungsarbeit der Schüler/innen können dabei über eine Vernetzungswebseite von der interessierten Bevölkerung live mitverfolgt werden.*

Dieses Projekt ist ein Young Citizen Science-Pilotprojekt.

Im Rahmen des zusätzlichen Citizen Science-Bausteins „FarbVerrückt“ können Bürgerinnen und Bürger die Entwicklung von Herbstlaub fotografieren und die Bilder mittels einer App online an die Forschungseinrichtung übermitteln. Damit unterstützen sie die Forschung zu den Ursachen der Verschiebung der Eintrittszeitpunkte der Laubverfärbung und des Laubfalls.

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.

Nähere Informationen unter www.youngscience.at/farbverrueckt

* Text: Projektleitung