BIO KoSMoS

Allergy-vaccines and ink for BioArt: Proteins for artistic and medical applications will be generated by scholars and researchers

BIO-KoSMoS is a project which links biotechnology, medicine and modern art. Therefore, the young and different mindset of students is required. With the help of Flying Labs, lab days at the university, a mentoring system and a think-tank in the sense of "open innovation" we try to bring the creativity of young people into research.

Within the project, the expression of allergens and fluorescent proteins in a cell-free system will be established. This will allow a high-throughput screening of modified allergens for therapeutic applications. Therefore, we will focus on ragweed and cypress pollen allergies. Especially ragweed, a neophyte introduced from North America into the European flora, accounts responsible for an increasing number of allergic diseases in Austria. Cypress allergies in contrast constitute a huge health problem in the Mediterranean area. Thus, with this Sparkling Science project we plan to create a novel platform for targeted allergy design.

Fluorescent proteins, which are necessary to establish the cell-free protein expression system, will be directly used as pigment material to manufacture and test BioArt inks and BioArt dyes. This biological colour system is adapted together with pupils for the artistic usability and tested on various painting and printing surfaces. An exhibition of the resulting artwork will demonstrate the close relationship of science and art to a broad public, thus proving the benefits of modern innovation management.

To ensure an inspiring and sustainable science education, this project will provide the basis to establish another Flying Lab – for schools nationwide in Austria. The Flying Labs are an award-winning educational initiative, which successfully transfer modern science directly to schools for years now. This ensures a permanent and successful cooperation between universities and schools.
In addition to the research objectives, primary goals of this project are to inspire young people to think and work scientifically, to establish new methods for allergen expression and to create internationally unique biotechnological painting materials.

BIO KoSMoS

Allergie-Impfstoffe und Tinte für BioArt: Proteine für Kunst und Medizin werden gemeinsam von Schüler/innen und Forscher/innen biotechnologisch hergestellt

BIO-KoSMoS wagt einen Spagat zwischen Biotechnologie, Medizin und moderner Kunst – verbindet diese miteinander. Dafür wird junges, schräges Denken von Schüler/innen benötigt. Mit Hilfe von Flying-Labs, Labortagen an der Uni, einem Mentor/innensystem und einem Think-Tank versuchen wir im Sinne von „open innovation“ den Ideenreichtum junger Menschen in die Forschung hineinzutragen.

Im Projekt wird Proteinexpression von Allergenen und fluoreszierenden Proteinen in einem zell-freien System etabliert. Das ermöglicht, veränderte Allergene für den Therapieeinsatz im High-Throughput-Verfahren zu testen. Dafür fokussieren wir im Projekt auf Ragweed-Allergien und Allergien gegen Proteine in Zypressenpollen. Speziell Ragweed, ein aus Nordamerika eingebrachtes Kraut, ist in Österreich für immer mehr allergische Erkrankungen verantwortlich. Zypressenallergien stellen hingegen im Mittelmeerbereich ein massives Gesundheitsproblem dar. Mit dem Sparkling Science-Projekt wollen wir die Basis für neue Möglichkeiten für gezielte Allergietherapien schaffen.

Die für die Etablierung der zellfreien Proteinexpression notwendigen leuchtenden Proteine werden direkt als Pigment-Material für die Herstellung und Testung von BioArt-Tinten und BioArt-Malfarben verwendet. Dafür wird dieses biologische Farbsystem gemeinsam mit den Schüler/innen für die künstlerische Verwendbarkeit adaptiert und auf unterschiedlichen Mal- und Druckoberflächen getestet. Eine Ausstellung der daraus entstehenden Kunstwerke soll einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zeigen, wie nahe Wissenschaft und Kunst liegen und wie folgerichtig es für ein modernes Innovationsmanagement ist, diese Bereiche näher zueinander zu führen.

Für eine moderne und nachhaltige Wissenschaftspädagogik soll mit dem Projekt die Basis für ein weiteres Flying Lab geschaffen werden – für Schulen österreichweit. Die Flying Labs sind eine preisgekrönte Bildungsinitiative, die wir schon seit Jahren erfolgreich einsetzen, um moderne Wissenschaft direkt in die Schule zu bringen, was nachhaltig eine erfolgreiche Kooperation von Universität und Schule gewährleistet.
Unsere Bestrebung ist es, neben den Forschungszielen, junge Leute zu wissenschaftlichem Denken und Arbeiten zu begeistern, neue Verfahren zu Allergenexpression zu etablieren und weltweit einzigartige biotechnologische Malmaterialien zu schaffen.