FacePolitics

Political Participation Possibilities for Pupils in Social Networking Websites such as Facebook

The transfer of political information to the public and the mobilization of citizens to political participation are necessary conditions for the success of democracy. However, especially catching young people’s attention for the political process gets increasingly difficult since media use behavior of young citizens and adults differs significantly. With respect to the future of modern democracy the question is how young citizens can be reached by politics. Studies show that social networks such as Facebook may contribute to the political participation behavior of young adults. Therefore, this project aims to investigate potential positive effects of new communication technologies rather than the negative side effects of social networks such as Facebook.

In cooperation with students the current state of Austrian politicians’ self-presentation on Facebook will be analyzed. The project investigates whether these political offers are interesting, adequate and mobilizing for young adults. For this purpose, a scientific content analysis of Austrian politicians’ Facebook profiles will be conducted. However, students will be actively involved into the development of the codebook, since not only scientific criteria but also, in particular, young people’s evaluation criteria play a crucial role when analyzing these Facebook profiles. This content analysis’ results will be critically reflected with the students and will be presented to Austrian politicians from different political parties, who will also be invited to the schools for discussion.

Students will critically reflect media democracy and will learn about research techniques and methods in the social sciences. Furthermore, students actively contribute to political participation offers targeted at young voters. Through involving students in this project and through reflecting the results together with Austrian politicians, political participation and political interest of young adults in Austria can be enhanced. Finally, the aim of this project is to address an environment where young adults are experts and to focus on a communication channel, which is central for them.*

This project is a Young Citizen Science pilot project.

Within the framework of the additional Citizen Science element “Young Adults’ Political Experience Sampling” all young citizens are invited to collect their political experiences via WhatsApp. In this way it is investigated which political topics preoccupy young people in their everyday lives. For more information visit www.youngscience.at/yapes_en



This project has a Top Citizen Science-extension project.

The project "The Political Participation Observer: A Citizen Science Tool for Tracking Political Participation“ of the University of Vienna seeks to investigate the current status of participation means and tools in Austria. Citizens collect political participation offers, e. g. on the street or in social networks, and share them with the scientists. For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/der-partizipationsradar

* Text: Project management

FacePolitics

Politische Partizipationsangebote für Schüler/innen in sozial-interaktiven Medien am Beispiel Facebook

Interesse am Mitforschen? Dieses Projekt nimmt am Citizen Science Award 2017 teil. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/politikradar.


Demokratie kann nur funktionieren, wenn die Bürger/innen durch politische Inhalte erreicht werden und sich aktiv beteiligen. Bei jungen Menschen ist das zunehmend schwieriger, da sie im Vergleich zu Erwachsenen ein fundamental anderes Mediennutzungsverhalten zeigen. Für die Zukunft einer modernen Demokratie stellt sich daher die Frage, wie junge Menschen überhaupt (noch) durch Politik erreicht und angesprochen werden können. Das Projekt widmet sich daher weniger den negativen Begleiterscheinungen von Facebook, sondern es untersucht mögliche positive Potenziale neuer Kommunikationstechnologien.

Zusammen mit den Schüler/innen soll daher eine Bestandsaufnahme erfolgen, wie sich österreichische Politiker/innen auf Facebook darstellen und ob dies für junge Menschen zeitgemäß, interessant und politisch mobilisierend ist. Dazu soll u.a. eine wissenschaftliche Analyse der Facebook-Profile von österreichischen Politiker/innen durchgeführt werden, wobei nicht nur der Blick der Forschung, sondern insbesondere die Bewertungskriterien von Schüler/innen eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Die Ergebnisse sollen Politiker/innen verschiedener Parteien präsentiert werden, die, wenn gewünscht, in die Schule zur Diskussion geladen werden. Die Auswahl treffen die Schüler/innen auf Basis der Befunde.

Neben der kritischen Reflektion unserer Mediendemokratie und dem Erlernen des wissenschaftlichen Kenntnisstandes sowie der sozialwissenschaftlichen Methoden liefern die Schüler/innen durch ihren Blick auf österreichische Politiker/innen einen aktiven Beitrag zu den Partizipationsmöglichkeiten junger Menschen. Durch das gemeinsame Einbinden von Schüler/innen und die Reflektion der Befunde durch die Politiker/innen selbst soll die Partizipation an und das Interesse für Politik von jungen Menschen in Österreich erhöht werden. Nicht zuletzt soll es ein spannendes Projekt für die Schüler/innen sein, da es sich unmittelbar der alltäglichen Lebenswelt und einem für junge Menschen zentralem Kommunikationskanal widmet. *

Dieses Projekt ist ein Young Citizen Science-Pilotprojekt.

Im Rahmen des zusätzlichen Citizen Science-Bausteins „Young Adults‘ Political Experience Sampling“ sind alle jungen Bürgerinnen und Bürger eingeladen, ihre politischen Erfahrungen mittels WhatsApp zu sammeln. So wird ermittelt, welche politischen Themen Jugendliche im Alltag beschäftigen. Nähere Informationen unter www.youngscience.at/yapes



Dieses Projekt hat ein Top Citizen Science-Erweiterungsprojekt.

Im Projekt „Der Politische Partizipationsradar – ein Citizen Science Tool zur Erfassung politischer Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten in Österreich“ der Universität Wien wird das politische Partizipationsangebot (z. B. Petitionen, öffentliche Versammlungen) in Österreich untersucht. Unter Einbeziehung interessierter Bürgerinnen und Bürger kann erstmals politische Alltagspartizipation, z. B. auf der Straße oder in sozialen Netzwerken, festgehalten werden. Nähere Informationen unter www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/der-partizipationsradar

* Text: Projektleitung