Like seen on the Screen

The media and our environment

“Like seen on the Screen – The Media and our Environment” is a platform for researchers and artists to work together with high school students within the field of Humanities and Cultural Studies. Filmic documents about Vienna, particularly rare amateur films from the Austrian Filmmuseum’s collections are being analyzed in terms of their historical context, linked to other historical research and then transformed into new inter media forms. What is the significance of private films in creating a sense of community? How can the representation in film of everyday life and lifestyles in the past lead to a future-oriented reflection of the public realm?

The project promises new insights into Visual Studies, beyond the linking of Cultural Studies and the analysis of the archives based on the knowledge and perception of the students. Simultaneously, “Like Seen on the Screen” may also make Contemporary History, Critical Media Theory and Political Education more accessible and raised young adult’s consciousness for the historicity of their immediate topographic surrounding as well as how media constructs our environment.

The paradigms of Visual History had been a subject of the fundamental research project FILM.STADT.WIEN since 2009. These paradigms will become verifiable and applicable for the researchers as a result of this project. The access to rare archival materials and the intense cooperation with researchers and artists make students familiar with methods of Cultural Studies and allowed them to apply them to their city. The collected knowledge will then be creatively transposed into a Mental Mapping and presented to the public.

Text: project management

This project has been completed.

Like Seen on the Screen

Die Medien und unsere Lebenswelten

Das Projekt lässt Wissenschafter/innen und Künstler/innen gemeinsam mit Schüler/innen ein innovatives Feld der Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften bearbeiten. Filmische Dokumente über Wien, insbesondere kaum erforschte Amateurfilme aus dem Österreichischen Filmmuseum, wurden in Hinblick auf ihre Aussagekraft über die Vergangenheit befragt, mit anderen historischen Wissensformationen verknüpft und zu intermedialen Darstellungsformen gebracht. Welchen Stellenwert haben private Zeugnisse filmischer Art für die Erzeugung eines Gemeinschafts-Bewusstseins? Wie weit kann die im Film gegebene affektive Auseinandersetzung mit früheren Alltags- und Lebensgewohnheiten zur zukunftsorientierten Reflexion von gemeinschaftlicher Öffentlichkeit führen?

Das Projekt verspricht – über die Verknüpfung kulturwissenschaftlicher Grundlagenforschung und der Erschließung dichter Archivbestände mit der Wahrnehmung und dem Weltwissen der Schüler/innen hinaus – neuartige Erkenntnisse im Feld der Visual History als einem rezenten Forschungsfeld. Zugleich vermag „Like Seen on the Screen“ Jugendlichen Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Zeitgeschichte, Kritische Medienbildung und Demokratiebildung zu vermitteln und ein Bewusstsein für die Historizität ihrer unmittelbaren topografischen Umgebung und die Umweltkonstruktion durch Bildmedien zu schaffen.

Der im Projekt zu erarbeitende Umgang mit Wissensformationen macht für die Wissenschafter/innen Paradigmen der Visual History, die seit 2009 im Rahmen des Grundlagenforschungsprojekts FILM.STADT.WIEN erforscht werden, überprüfbar und anwendbar. Für die Schüler/innen ergab sich durch den Zugang zu raren Archivalien und die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschafter/innen und Künstler/innen die Gelegenheit, Methoden der Kulturwissenschaften kennenzulernen, auf einen ihnen nahen Gegenstand (ihre Stadt) anzuwenden und das entstandene Wissen in Form eines Mental Mapping kreativ umzusetzen und öffentlich zu präsentieren.

Text: Projektleitung

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.