Inclusive Spaces

Students explore their school's social spaces at 'New Secondary Schools' in the context of inclusion

"The integration of all students, regardless of their origin or their special needs" is one of the main focus points in the conception of the "Neue Mittelschule" (new secondary school) in Austria (BMUKK 2012). However, recent research had shown that social integration/inclusion remains one of the main challenges in schools, as students reported from stigmatisation and bullying. "Inclusive Spaces" tried to tackle this problem. Building on the "insider perspectives" of students, we tried to generate knowledge that contributes to foster social cohesion and "successful inclusion" in schools. Social space theory provided the framework for our research.

The first phase of "Inclusive Spaces" consisted of research projects at three new middle schools in Vienna, conducted with students of so called "integration classes" (Integrationsklassen). At each school, an open discussion of different aspects of inclusion marked the starting point of the project. At the next stage, students learnt the basics of participatory research and methods. Students were encouraged to conduct their own research projects in different social spaces of their schools, supported by academic researchers. Results were presented in science clips, vignettes and quizzes. In addition to the perspective of students, teachers were interviewed on their perceptions of social inclusion and asked to draw their own social maps of their school environments.

The second phase was dedicated to an in depth analysis of the results and materials produced in the first phase. Teams of researchers, professors of teacher colleges and teachers transformed the gathered insights into learning materials to be inducted into teacher education.

This project has a Top Citizen Science-extension project.

The aim of the project „Inclusive Spaces 2.0: My School and My Block – Researching Spaces in Educational and Community Setting” is to investigate the relations between spaces in schools and the neighbouring communities, with the participation of pupils. For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/inclusive-spaces-2-0

* Text: Project management

This project has been completed.

Inclusive Spaces

Schüler/innen erforschen die sozialen Räume an Neuen Mittelschulen im Kontext von Inklusion

"Die Integration aller SchülerInnen, unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft oder ihren besonderen Bedürfnissen" stellt einen wesentlichen Schwerpunkt in der Konzeption der Neuen Mittelschulen in Österreich dar (BMUKK 2012). Rezente Forschungsergebnisse zeigten jedoch, dass die soziale Komponente der Integration/Inklusion in der Realität von vielen Schulen häufig ein Spannungsfeld darstellt. Das Projekt setzte an dieser Problemstellung an und versuchte, aufbauend auf dem "Insider-Wissen" von Schüler/innen, einen innovativen Beitrag für ein gelingendes soziales Miteinander an Schulen zu leisten. Dabei wurde auf raumsoziologische Überlegungen von Schule zurückgegriffen.

In der ersten Phase von "Inclusive Spaces" wurden Forschungsprojekte an drei Neuen Mittelschulen in Wien durchgeführt. Hier wurden Schüler/innen aus sogenannten Integrationsklassen behutsam an den Themenkomplex Inklusion und Teilhabe herangeführt. In weiterer Folge setzten sie sich spielerisch mit Grundlagen partizipatorischer Forschung auseinander, wobei ein Schwerpunkt auf soziogeographische Methoden gelegt wurde. Schließlich führten die Schüler/innen gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftler/innen kleinere Forschungsprojekte zu den Sozialräumen ihrer Schulen durch. Die Ergebnisse wurden mit den Jugendlichen u.a. in "Science-Clips", Vignetten und Quiz-Formaten aufgearbeitet. Gleichzeitig wurde im Rahmen der Schulprojekte durch "Mapping" und qualitative Interviews der Blickwinkel der Lehrer/innen auf soziale Räume und Inklusion erhoben.

In der zweiten Phase wurden die zuvor gesammelten Ergebnisse und Materialien vertiefend analysiert. Anschließend wurden Teams aus Wissenschafter/innen, Lehrenden der Pädagogischen Hochschule Wien und Lehrer/innen gebildet, welche die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse aufbereiteten und in die Bereiche Inklusion, schulisch organisierte Freizeitbetreuung und soziales Lernen der Lehrer/innenbildung überführten.

Dieses Projekt hat ein Top Citizen Science-Erweiterungsprojekt.

Ziel des Projekts „Inclusive Spaces 2.0: My School and My Block – Researching Spaces in Educational and Community Setting” ist es, unter Beteiligung von Schülerinnen und Schülern neue Erkenntnisse zu den Relationen zwischen den sozialen Räumen in Schulen und jenen außerhalb zu ermöglichen. Nähere Informationen unter https://www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/inclusive-spaces-2-0

* Text: Projektleitung

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.