Think Spatial!

Adolescents develop and evaluate tools for spatial and visual research and learning

The promotion of problem solving and shaping skills (Gestaltungskompetenz) should be in focus of educational institutions to enable adolescents for active participation in future shaping processes. In this context, the interactive application of tools and media is a key competence that requires increasingly the use of digital technology. Especially geographic information systems (GIS) can guide through communication processes, evaluation tasks and perception analysis and are therefore a crucial tool to promote future shaping skills. As digital natives, adolescents grew up with digital technology, but often limit their use to only a few applications like gaming and social networking.

Within the project Think Spatial! we developed an interactive learning tool together with school students to examine spatial aspects of their everyday life. The adolescents gathered existing applications and analysed them regarding their suitability for educational purposes. Knowledge and demands of adolescents were central for a target group focused realisation of the application. Beside the software development, the school students identified relevant research questions and implemented them in the application. In this way, the typical workflow of (research) projects like data gathering, analysis, visualisation and communication became visible and comprehensible. The integration of social network interfaces allowed the involvement of further participants for a broader data basis.

An accompanied evaluation, analysed the development process, the suitability as tool to promote shaping skills and the acceptance in school education. The development of educational materials for future users and user groups teached the school students concerning competences for knowledge transfer and ensured that the application could be used beyond the end of the project.

A transdisciplinary approach was applied for the cooperation with the schools. School students and teachers were involved in all working packages and contributed with their individual expert knowledge to the development of “their” application from the beginning of the project. The scientific team attended this process and delivered expert knowledge for the specific implementation steps.

The two-years cooperation allowed the implementation of a competence-orientated didactic approach where the school students acquired specific knowledge and skills. Within workshops, they learned about different methods for scientific work that could be applied directly in the working packages.

This project has a Top Citizen Science-extension project.

The aim of the project “Earth Construction in the Weinviertel: Further development of methods and tools from research-education cooperation to implement a citizen science project“ is to collect local and historical knowledge about clay buildings and their building stock with the help of citizens.

For more information visit www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/en/p/lehmbau-im-weinviertel

This project has been completed.

Think Spatial!

Jugendliche entwickeln und testen Werkzeuge zum räumlichen und visuellen Forschen und Lernen

Gestaltungskompetenz zu fördern, sollte das Ziel aller Bildungseinrichtungen sein, um Jugendliche zu motivieren die Zukunft aktiv mitzugestalten. Die interaktive Anwendung von Medien und Mitteln ist dabei eine Schlüsselkompetenz, die zunehmend auch Kenntnisse der Nutzung digitaler Technologien benötigt. Besonders Geographische Informationssysteme (GIS) können durch die Unterstützung bei Wahrnehmungs-, Kommunikations- und Bewertungsprozessen zum Aufbau von Gestaltungskompetenz beitragen. Jugendliche wachsen zwar mit diesen Technologien auf, die Nutzung beschränkt sich jedoch oft auf wenige, dafür umso intensiver genutzte Anwendungen wie Spiele oder soziale Netzwerke.

Im Projekt Think Spatial! wurde gemeinsam mit Schüler/innen ein interaktives Lernwerkzeug entwickelt, welches es erlaubt, räumliche Aspekte ihres Alltagslebens zu erforschen. Die Jugendlichen erhoben Anwendungen und analysierten sie im Hinblick auf ihre Eignung für den Unterricht. Das Wissen und die Bedürfnisse der Jugendlichen waren zentral für eine zielgruppengerechte Umsetzung. Neben der Softwareentwicklung erarbeiteten die Jugendlichen eigene Forschungsfragen und setzten diese mit der Applikation um. So wurden typische Arbeitsschritte eines Forschungsprojekts wie Datenerfassung und -auswertung, Visualisierung sowie Kommunikation der Ergebnisse nachvollziehbar. Die Integration sozialer Netzwerke erlaubte die Einbindung weiterer Personen für eine breitere Datenbasis und differenziertere Auswertung.

Eine begleitende Evaluierung analysierte den Entwicklungsprozess, die Eignung des Tools zur Förderung der Gestaltungskompetenz und die Akzeptanz im Unterricht. Die Erarbeitung von Schulungsmaterialien für künftige Nutzer/innen vermittelte den Jugendlichen Kompetenzen für die Wissenskommunikation und sicherte eine Nutzbarkeit des Tools über das Forschungsprojekt hinaus.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Schulen erfolgte nach einem transdisziplinären Ansatz. Die Schüler/innen und Lehrpersonen waren in alle Arbeitsschritte eingebunden, trugen mit ihrem Expert/innenwissen ganz wesentlich zum Projekt bei und gestalteten und entwickelten damit von Anfang an „ihre“ Applikation mit. Das Wissenschaftsteam begleitete diesen Prozess und brachte das fachliche Wissen für die entsprechenden Umsetzungsschritte ein.

Die zweijährige Kooperation ermöglichte die Implementierung einer kompetenzorientierten Didaktik. Die involvierten Schüler/innen wurden im Laufe des Projekts mit neuen Kenntnissen und Fertigkeiten ausgestattet. So lernten sie im Rahmen von einzelnen Methodenworkshops unterschiedliche Methoden des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens kennen und konnten diese in den jeweiligen Arbeitspaketen gleich selbst anwenden.

Dieses Projekt hat ein Top Citizen Science-Erweiterungsprojekt.

Ziel des Projekts „Lehmbau im Weinviertel: Weiterentwicklung von Methoden und Werkzeugen aus Wissenschafts-Schulkooperationen zur Implementierung eines Citizen Science Projekts“ ist es mithilfe der Bevölkerung lokales und historisches Wissen über Lehmbauten sowie deren Baubestand zu sammeln. Nähere Informationen unter www.zentrumfuercitizenscience.at/de/p/lehmbau-im-weinviertel

* Text: Projektleitung

Dieses Projekt ist bereits abgeschlossen.