Programme goals

Strengthening the cooperation between schools, research institutions and society 

With the "Sparkling Science 2.0" programme, the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF) promotes Citizen Science projects in which pupils of all school levels and the civil society, are actively involved in the research process. Through their commitment, knowledge and skills, citizens make important contributions to science that would not be possible without their support. The increased participation of pupils and adults in research processes contributes significantly to deepening the dialogue between science and society and improves skills in scientific work and lifelong learning. The cooperation between science, schools and society also makes a significant contribution to achieving the trend reversal in Austria towards societal appreciation of research and innovation.

Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science

A bridge between research and education

In keeping with the "Citizen Science" research approach, an important component of the programme is the participation of the civil society, with a special focus on the involvement of school children in the projects.   

The thematic focus "Science at Schools" of the programme funds projects that use special measures to promote the participation of schools from peripheral regions or schools in Austria that have not yet been reached or have hardly been reached with Citizen Science activities. Pupils from peripheral regions in Austria, from families with migration backgrounds and/or educationally disadvantaged children and young people will be able to gain an insight into the world of science.

Alternatively, additional funds for "Science at Schools" can be applied for for projects that additionally involve university colleges of teacher education as cooperation partners in order to jointly support schools in advancing their autonomous school focus areas in the field of science.

Sparkling Science Promobild
Sparkling Science Promobild
Sparkling Science Promobild
© Martin Posset

Building Citizen Science skills in the scientific community

“Sparkling Science 2.0” also aims to disseminate Citizen Science methods in the research community, e.g. by supporting Citizen Science-experienced researchers to work together with scientists without such experience. Innovative research results should attract international interest, support the career development of the researchers involved and thus advance national and international networking. 

Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science

Promoting Open Science

In the spirit of Open Science, transparent research approaches that open access to the process of gaining knowledge - from the first research steps to the final publication - are promoted. Consequently, research data (Open Data) and research results (Open Access) from projects that receive funding by the BMBWF should be made freely available for the interested general public, if possible. 
The aim of the programme is to support the open science movement and strengthen social participation and public engagement.

Programmziele

Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit von Schulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und der Gesellschaft

Das BMBWF fördert mit dem Programm „Sparkling Science 2.0“ Citizen-Science-Projekte, in welchen Schülerinnen und Schüler aller Schulstufen aber auch die Zivilgesellschaft aktiv in den Forschungsprozess einbezogen werden. Bürgerinnen und Bürger leisten durch ihr Engagement, ihr Wissen und ihre Fähigkeiten wichtige Beiträge zur Wissenschaft, die ohne ihre Mitarbeit nicht möglich wären. Die vermehrte Teilhabe von Schülerinnen und Schülern sowie Erwachsenen an Forschungsprozessen trägt wesentlich zur Vertiefung des Dialoges zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft bei und verbessert die Kompetenzen im wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten sowie beim lebenslangen Lernen. Die Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaft, Schule und Gesellschaft trägt darüber hinaus wesentlich dazu bei, in Österreich die Trendwende zur gesellschaftlichen Wertschätzung von Forschung und Innovation zu erreichen.

Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science

Eine Brücke zwischen Forschung und Bildung

Im Sinne des Forschungsansatzes „Citizen Science“ ist ein wichtiger Baustein des Programms die Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft. Dabei wird ein besonderer Fokus auf die Mitarbeit von Schülerinnen und Schülern bei den Projekten gelegt. 

Mit dem Schwerpunkt „Science in Schulen“ werden entweder Projekte, die mit speziellen Maßnahmen die Teilnahme von Schulen aus peripheren Regionen oder von Schulen in Österreich, die bisher noch nicht oder kaum mit Citizen-Science-Aktivitäten erreicht wurden, zusätzlich unterstützt. Damit sollen insbesondere Schülerinnen und Schüler aus peripheren Regionen in Österreich, aus Familien mit Migrationshintergrund und/oder bildungsbenachteiligte Kinder und Jugendliche Einblicke in die Welt der Wissenschaft erhalten. 

Alternativ können die zusätzlichen Mittel im genannten Schwerpunkt für Projekte beantragt werden, die zusätzlich Pädagogische Hochschulen als Kooperationspartner einbinden, um im Rahmen des Projektes die autonome Schulschwerpunktbildung im Bereich Wissenschaft voranzutreiben.  

Sparkling Science Promobild
Sparkling Science Promobild
Sparkling Science Promobild
© Martin Posset

Aufbau von Citizen-Science-Kompetenzen in der wissenschaftlichen Community

Ziel von „Sparkling Science 2.0“ ist auch die Verbreitung von Citizen-Science-Methoden in der Forschungscommunity, indem z.B. Citizen-Science-erfahrene Forschende dabei unterstützt werden, mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ohne derartige Erfahrungen zusammenzuarbeiten. Innovative Forschungsergebnisse sollen auf internationales Interesse stoßen, die Karriereentwicklung der beteiligten Forschenden unterstützen und so die nationale und internationale Vernetzung vorantreiben.  

Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science
Sparkling Science

Förderung von Open Science

Im Sinne von Open Science sind transparente Forschungsansätze, die den Prozess der Erkenntnisgewinnung von der ersten Recherche bis zur finalen Publikation so weit wie möglich öffnen, gewünscht. Folglich sollten auch die Datenbestände (Open Data) und die Forschungsergebnisse (Open Access), die aus dem vom BMBWF geförderten Projekten hervorgehen, für alle Interessierten öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden.
Ziel des Programms ist es, die Open-Science-Bewegung zu unterstützen und die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe und Partizipation an innovativer Wissenschaft zu stärken.