TRA:WELL

TRA:WELL - Transport and Wellbeing

Many children are increasingly spending their free time indoors and under supervision instead of moving independently outdoors. This is reflected in a decline in active forms of mobility (walking, biking/scootering) on school and recreational routes. Reversing these trends requires deeper insights into mechanisms of behavior change, perceptions of the built environment, mobility-related choices, and the impact on children's well-being.

The TRA:WELL project investigates how active and independent mobility of children and youth is related to well-being and is conducted in collaboration with three schools. In the 1st part, a survey is conducted using questionnaires and fitness trackers. The 2nd part deals, among other things, with the investigation of motives and attitudes underlying mobility-related decisions. At the interface of quantitative and qualitative methods, students aged 10-14 years (further) develop methods and instruments for this purpose in workshops, which enable the recording of the complex topic of attitudes, behavior (mobility, movement), well-being and freedom of decision in the mobility context for the target group of children (e.g. activity diary, Q-Sort). The developed instruments will be partially tested with students not directly involved in the project. In the 3rd part, the subjective perception of the traffic space will be analyzed. Under the guidance of trainers in traffic psychology and pedagogy, a catalog of criteria for a safe design of the traffic area will be developed. The identified factors serve as a basis for the construction of virtual environments, which can be experienced in a laboratory. Reactions to scenarios will be measured and analyzed in terms of perception of safety, comfort, etc.

From a scientific point of view, valuable data and methods are generated. The results show how mobility behavior and subjective well-being are related and what contribution active forms of mobility make to the fulfillment of physical activity recommendations. Furthermore, the results shed light on important arguments in the context of child-friendly mobility for parents and decision-makers and provide in-depth insight into the child's perspective. Through the transdisciplinary approach, the project contributes to the intersectoral cooperation of transport/mobility and health. Output for the education sector is a teaching unit developed with teachers.

TRA:WELL

TRA:WELL - Transport and Wellbeing

Viele Kinder verbringen ihre Freizeit zunehmend in geschlossenen Räumen und unter Aufsicht, anstatt sich selbstständig im Freien zu bewegen. Dies spiegelt sich in einem Rückgang aktiver Mobilitätsformen (zu Fuß gehen, Rad/Tretroller fahren) auf Schul- und Freizeitwegen wider. Um diese Trends umzukehren, braucht es vertiefte Einblicke in Mechanismen der Verhaltensänderung, der Wahrnehmung der bebauten Umwelt, mobilitätsbezogener Entscheidungen und die Auswirkung auf das Wohlbefinden von Kindern.

Das Projekt TRA:WELL untersucht, wie aktive und eigenständige Mobilität von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit dem Wohlbefinden zusammenhängt und erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit drei Schulen. Im 1. Teil erfolgt eine Erhebung mittels Fragebögen und Fitnesstrackern. Der 2. Teil befasst sich u.a. mit der Untersuchung der Motive und Einstellungen, die mobilitätsbezogenen Entscheidungen zu Grunde liegen. An der Schnittstelle von quantitativen und qualitativen Verfahren entwickeln Schüler/innen im Alter von 10-14 Jahren dazu in Workshops Methoden und Instrumente (weiter), die die Erfassung der komplexen Thematik von Einstellungen, Verhalten (Mobilität, Bewegung), Wohlbefinden und Entscheidungsfreiheit im Mobilitätskontext für die Zielgruppe der Kinder ermöglichen (z.B. Aktivitätentagebuch, Q-Sort). Die entwickelten Instrumente werden teilweise mit nicht direkt im Projekt beteiligten Schüler/innen getestet werden. Im 3. Teil wird die subjektive Wahrnehmung des Verkehrsraums analysiert. Unter Anleitung verkehrspsychologischer und –pädagogischer Trainer/innen wird ein Kriterienkatalog für eine sichere Gestaltung des Verkehrsraums erarbeitet. Die identifizierten Faktoren dienen als Grundlage für die Konstruktion von virtuellen Umgebungen, welche in einem Labor erlebbar gemacht werden. Die Reaktionen auf Szenarien werden gemessen und hinsichtlich Sicherheitsempfinden, Komfort etc. analysiert.

Aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht werden wertvolle Daten und Methoden generiert. Die Ergebnisse zeigen auf, wie Mobilitätsverhalten und subjektives Wohlbefinden zusammenhängen und welchen Beitrag aktive Mobilitätsformen an der Erfüllung der Bewegungsempfehlungen leisten. Darüber hinaus beleuchten die Ergebnisse wichtige Argumente im Kontext kinderfreundlicher Mobilität für Eltern und Entscheidungsträger/innen und geben vertieften Einblick in die kindliche Perspektive. Das Projekt leistet durch die transdisziplinäre Betrachtung einen Beitrag zur intersektoralen Zusammenarbeit von Verkehr/Mobilität und Gesundheit. Output für den Bildungssektor ist eine Lehreinheit, die mit Lehrpersonen entwickelt wird.